REVIEW: Rule (Marked Men #1)

Rule (Marked Men #1)

by Jay Crownover

Genre: New Adult, Contemporary Romance, Contemporary

Publisher:Harper Collins

Published:July 3rd 2014

21079580Synopsis:

Opposites in every way . . . except the one that matters

Shaw Landon loved Rule Archer from the moment she laid eyes on him. Rule is everything a straight–A pre-med student like Shaw shouldn’t want–and the only person she’s never tried to please. She isn’t afraid of his scary piercings and tattoos or his wild attitude. Though she knows that Rule is wrong for her, her heart just won’t listen.

To a rebel like Rule Archer, Shaw Landon is a stuck-up, perfect princess-and his dead twin brother’s girl. She lives by other people’s rules; he makes his own. He doesn’t have time for a good girl like Shaw-even if she’s the only one who can see the person he truly is.

But a short skirt, too many birthday cocktails, and spilled secrets lead to a night neither can forget. Now, Shaw and Rule have to figure out how a girl like her and a guy like him are supposed to be together without destroying their love . . . or each other.

ABOUT Jay Crownover:

Jay Crownover

I’m supposed to share interesting details about myself so that my readers get to know me so here we go in no particular order: I’m an natural redhead even though I haven’t seen my real hair color in years, I’m a big fan of tattoos and have a half sleeve on either arm and various other pieces all over the place, I’ve been in the bar industry since I was in college and it has always offered interesting insight into how men and women interact with each other, I have 3 dogs that are all crazy, I live in Colorado and love the snow, I love music and in all reality wish I could be a rock star not a writer or a bartender but I have zero talent so there is that.
I love to write, love to read and all I’m interested in is a good story with interesting characters that make the reader feel something.
Thanks for taking the time to check my stuff out….
Jay Crownover

Follow Jay: jaycrownover


My Thoughts:

IMG_0264

I absolutely adored this book and look at that cover is absolutely beautiful! I had this book on my To Read Pile for a long time so I am very happy that I finally read it, because it was well deserved! First of all I loved Rule Archer…. The name works for a bad boy and we all know Rule is a perfect dad boy! He is hot, sexy and very rebellious, he is ultimate a bad boy and he has this devil may car attitude. I absolutely love Shaw and her name is just so amazing I’m envious over her name I mean real ENVY! Shaw has this rocker, bad girl name but she is actually a real good girl. She was in love with Rule since she was a young teenager but Rule never new about it. Rule and Rome always thought she was Remy’s girl – Remy being Rules twin brother, who died in an accident – Shaw did not know how to show him how much she loved him and in one night on Shaw’s birthday everything started to change.

“I think it’s genetically impossible not to be kind of in love with him when you come equipped with a vagina. It’s just something about all that angsty, moody swagger he has that makes you want to cuddle him up and make him feel better.”

Rule has never dated, he always had a revolving door of women going in and out and every Sunday Shaw walks in on him with woman because she is his ride back home for the weekly Sunday lunch so it hurt her every time she saw him with all these models who only cares about throwing them selves to hot bad boys! Everything started to change for this bad boy when he saw Shaw in other clothes that isn’t conservative; she works at this bar he and his friends like to wind down and have fun so when he saw her with this cute little sports out fit; he started seeing her in this different way. He hated that his friends looked at her like they want to eat her up.

“You have to promise not to bail on me when I get lost, Shaw. You have to promise to just wait it out until I can find my way back. I need to know you’re at the end of the tunnel when everything goes black.”

I loved this book because yes this plot is about a bad boy and good girl but when it’s done right, it is the best. THE BEST. I liked that there was some suspense in this book and yes this book is not a suspense book but I loved it because you saw how much Rule would do to protect Shaw even change himself for her. She hated that he changed like that because that was not Rule so yeah I’m glad they figured everything out what they wanted with each other. Everybody new they were meant to be so yeah I think this book has become one of my new favorite series!! I also cannot wait to read more about Rome and I’m dying to read more about Jet! Both of them are damaged, both have some serious baggage trailing them, but they still worked together so well. I never got tired of their relationship. I loved watching both of them struggle to be who they were and stay true to themselves. There really were no games, just the two of them loving each other and learning to be happy. Both of them have so much passion that when they together they ignite!  There was no twist or turns because I saw the big incident coming, but it was the heartache that I didn’t expect. I felt so very sad at some points. This book has a well deserved HEA and I absolutely love Jay Crownover’s style of writing! I have the next book up and ready to read on my Kindle so can’t wait to start.

“Here’s my heart Shaw. You have it in your hands and I promise you’re the first and last person to ever touch it. You need to be careful with it because it’s far more fragile than I ever thought and if you try and give it back I’m not taking it. I don’t know enough about love to know for sure that’s what this between us is, but I know that for me it’s you and only you from here on out and I can only promise to be careful and not push you away again. Life without you in it is doable, but if I have a choice I want to do it with you by my side and I’m telling you I’m not running away from the work it takes to make that happen. Shaw I’m not scared of us anymore.”

2 thoughts on “REVIEW: Rule (Marked Men #1)

  1. Pingback: Reviews by Rating | Echoing Books

  2. Pingback: 5+ Rating | Echoing Books

Leave a Reply

