RELEASE BLITZ + EXCERPT:Scattered Ashes

ec51d0db-9779-4657-a2f1-897a58c93a3cScattered Ashes by Jessica Sorensen
Shattered Promises #4
Publication:June 24 2015
Genre:Paranormal, New Adult, Fantasy
Purchase:Amazon Barnes & Noble
Synopsis

My name is Gemma Lucas and my life’s a wreck. Alex, the guy I just might be falling in love with, and the father of my unborn child, left me. Not to mention if I do admit I’m in love with him, it could potentially kill us both. My father’s trapped in his own mind and my mom’s working for the dark side.

Oh, and did I mention I was being haunted by the ghost of Nicholas, the annoying half-faerie, half Foreseer who won’t leave me alone?

The world has entered apocalyptic mode; fires in the streets, mad chaos. Everyday more vampires, witches, and fey get marked by evil. Innocent humans are dying. And I’m the only one who can stop it, which sounds easy, but I have to die in order to save everyone. And I have to let Alex die as well, something I’m not so certain I can do.

**Mature Content Warning** 17+ for language and sexual content. (this is a re-imagining of my Young Adult Paranormal book, The Promise (Book 4 in the Fallen Star Series) told as a New Adult Paranormal)

“Admiring your own reflection,” Nicholas says. “How very vain of you.”

I scowl at the ghost faerie that suddenly materializes behind me. “Go away. I see enough of you in my dreams.”

He presses his hand over his heart, his golden eyes twinkling mischievously. “Wow, Gemma, I’m honored that you think of me so often. But what I’d really like to know is what exactly happens in these dreams?” An impish grin curls his lips. “Are they naughty dreams, Gemma?” He reaches for me. “I bet they are. I bet you let me touch you because, secretly, that’s what you want.”

“I think those are your dreams.” I dodge out of his reach and spin around to face him. “And I don’t dream of you, Nicholas. I have nightmares of you.” I back away from him and onto the bed. “Always nightmares.”

“So you say.” He smirks, stepping toward me. “But deep down, we both know your words don’t match your thoughts, that really, you want me just as bad as I want you.” His eyes scroll across my body, lingering on my chest before dropping to my hand. “Otherwise, you’d take the ring off.”

I glance down at the ring on my finger. My father told me it holds the answers to saving the world, but all the damn thing has done is given me the gift—the curse of seeing one very obnoxious ghost.

“You know what? You actually have a point.” I start to slip the ring off.

“Gemma,” Nicholas warns, his body tensing, “I wouldn’t if I were you.”

I inch the ring toward my fingertip. “Why? So you can keep driving me insane, make your perverted remarks when you shouldn’t?” I wrap my arm around my stomach to emphasize my point, even though it really does make me feel ill.

I haven’t told anyone yet about the heartbeat I heard that night or how Nicholas implied that I might be pregnant. Saying it aloud means dealing with the fact that I might be carrying around another person inside me, which is terrifying in itself. However, there’s a whole lot more to it than that, like the fact that if I have to die in order to save the world, so does it.

Nicholas shakes his head, brushing strands of his sandy blonde hair out of his golden eyes, then glares at my stomach with disgust, as if suddenly remembering I might be pregnant. “I’m not just here to drive you insane.” He looks up at me. “And if you take the ring off, you’ll never learn the real reason I came back.”

He could easily be lying or telling the truth. It’s hard to say. Right now, however, I’m tired, and whether he can help me save the world or not, I really need a break from him.

“I think I’ll take my chances.”

IMG_0256

jesssica sorensenJessica Sorensen is the author of The New York Times and USA Today Bestsellers, The Secret of Ella and Micha, The Coincidence of Callie and Kayden, and Breaking Nova, which are New Adult Contemporary novels.  She also writes Paranormal series, including the Fallen Star Series, Shattered Promises, Darkness Falls, and the Death Collectors. She loves writing and reading and is an avid watcher of TV series The Vampire Diaries and Modern Family.  An immense music lover,  Jessica immerses herself in her music as she writes.  She has a broad taste in music, and a list of favorite songs that goes on for miles!  A few of her current favorite bands are Chevelle, Rise Against, Alkaline Trio, Brand New, Death Cab for Cutie, Flight 409, and Nirvana.  Some of Jessica’s favorite “watch it over, and over again” movies include Anywhere but Here, Juno, Pride and Prejudice, The Hangover, and Bad Teacher.
Leave a Reply

