Review: Rome (Marked Men #3)

20494592Rome by Jay Crownover
Marked Men #3
Publication Date: July 3rd 2014
Publisher:Harper Collins
Genre: New Adult, Contemporary Romance, Contemporary
Purchase:EbookPaperback

 Cora Lewis is a whole lot of fun, and she knows how to keep her tattooed bad boy friends in line. But all that flash and sass hide the fact that she’s never gotten over the way her first love broke her heart. Now she has a plan to make sure that never happens again: She’s only going to fall in love with someone perfect.

Rome Archer is as far from perfect as a man can be. He’s stubborn and rigid, he’s bossy and has come back from his final tour of duty fundamentally broken. Rome’s used to filling a role: big brother, doting son, super soldier; and now none of these fit anymore. Now he’s just a man trying to figure out what to do with the rest of his life while keeping the demons of war and loss at bay. He would have been glad to suffer it alone, until Cora comes sweeping into his life and becomes the only color on his bleak horizon.

Perfect isn’t in the cards for these two, but imperfect might just last forever . . .

review

5 Rating

“She was also damn cute. Not beautiful or stunningly pretty, but she was cuter than any girl with that much attitude had a right to be, and somehow the bouquet of flowers that colored her skin in every shape and variety seemed like it belonged there.”

This book was absolutely amazing! It was just a fast ride of thousand emotions from happiness, sadness, fear(you will understand the fear at nearly the end of the book!), there was sexy time and I absolutely adored the entire book! You wouldn’t think so because i took a while to finish this book but I can tell you now it’s not true. I took a while to finish it because I kept putting it to the selves to read a different book but I decided this weekend I will finish this book and that’s exactly what I did on Saturday! That was one amazing Saturday!! I loved Rome because he is so different than his brother Rule. Don’t get me wrong I adore Rule as well but they also the same in a lot of ways.

“I don’t have a ring. I don’t have a pretty speech prepared. All I know is that I love you more than life itself and I want every single person in this room to know that I want you forever, Shaw Landon. I love you. Marry me.”

Typical Rule: he didn’t ask, he just told her.

“Be an Archer. Be mine.”

Rome just got home from the army for good and he didn’t know what to do with himself. He feels that he wouldn’t be there and he was taking all his emotions out on everyone he loves by pushing Rule and Shaw away! Cora did not want to stand for that and she made that perfectly clear…. Cora is like tiny, feisty little tinker bell with tattoo’s and piercings and she will not back down in what she thinks is right, she know the other guys will let Rome slide for being so rude so she decided to make it perfectly clear that she won’t stand for something like that! Rome was pissed at her first but then slowly that same day she become to intrigue him. One night he was so drunk at a bar that the owner had to call his brother to take him home but Cora is the one who answered the phone. She did want to bother Rule so she decided to go get him and that night everything changed between the two.  Cora was looking for the perfect man because she is terrified to get her heart broken again like her heart broke when Jimmy her ex cheated on her. She was so terrified to date Rome but something very unexpected happened and he wanted to be with her! His PTSD nearly pusses him away from her but she forced him to talk it through with her instead of running of on her and getting drunk. Sadly what Jimmy did to her she was so terrified to say “I love you” to him and that nearly forced them apart along with a little surprise from Jimmy, but she loved Rome already and she planned to make him see it but that did not go as expected. Rome got shot by a biker who got kicked out of his MC because he stared a fight with Rome and he blaimed Rome for being kicked out of his MC! That nearly made Cora loose him but he somehow needed it because he got to see Remy! Remy made him see that she loved him even though she never said it, he also made sure that Rome stopped blaming himself for not being there when Remy died. He nearly gave up fighting and that meant that he could hear Remy telling him to fight but he decided to fight harder when he head Cora speak to him, told him to fight because she would be worse of he died because she would have certainly not be able to survive her heartbreaking. Thankfully he fought and the book ended with a HEA for Rome and Cora but sadly something happened to Phil and we will only know what happens to him when we read Nash’s book.

“Love doesn’t always have to be spoken out loud.”

Jay Crownover really knows how to write amazing books with sexy swoon worthy bad boys and feisty strong and independent woman. This is the perfect book to read that leaves a person happy and smiling when you finished this it. Jay Crownover is easily becoming one of my new favorite authors!

“Rome Archer, if you don’t wake up right this second so I can tell you that I love you, I swear I’m going to name this baby something ridiculous like Daffodil or Rover and I’m going to let your brother be in charge of haircuts until he or she is old enough to complain.”

About the author

Jay Crownover I’m supposed to share interesting details about myself so that my readers get to know me so here we go in no particular order: I’m an natural redhead even though I haven’t seen my real hair color in years, I’m a big fan of tattoos and have a half sleeve on either arm and various other pieces all over the place, I’ve been in the bar industry since I was in college and it has always offered interesting insight into how men and women interact with each other, I have 3 dogs that are all crazy, I live in Colorado and love the snow, I love music and in all reality wish I could be a rock star not a writer or a bartender but I have zero talent so there is that.I love to write, love to read and all I’m interested in is a good story with interesting characters that make the reader feel something.
Thanks for taking the time to check my stuff out….
Jay Crownover

2 thoughts on “Review: Rome (Marked Men #3)

  1. Pingback: Review: Nash by Jay Crownover | Echoing Books

  2. Pingback: Reviews by Rating | Echoing Books

Leave a Reply

