Review: Better When He’s Bold by Jay Crownover

22249792 (1)

Better When He’s Bold by Jay Crownover
Welcome to the Point #2
Publication:February 3rd 2015
Publisher:William Morrow Paperbacks
Genre:New Adult, Contemporary Romance, Contemporary, Romantic Suspense.
Purchase:Amazon Kobo
Synopsis

 Some men are just better when they’re bold.

Welcome to the Point…

In a dark and broken kingdom, a ruler has to be fearless to control the streets and the ruthless people who run them.

Race Hartman is just bold enough, just smart enough, and just lost enough to wear the crown. Places like the Point will always have bad things and bad people, but the man in control of all that badness can minimize the devastation. Race has a plan, but can he prevent total annihilation without destroying himself?

Brysen Carter has always seen her best friend’s brother for what he is–too pretty, too smooth, and way too dangerous to touch. Basking in Race’s golden glow is very tempting, but Brysen knows she’d eventually get burned.

When she starts receiving threatening texts and someone tries to take her out in parking lot, the only person interested in keeping her safe is the one man she can’t allow herself to have.

Sometimes being bold is the only way to stay alive. But can she let Race save her life . . . if it means losing herself to him?

review5 Rating

“It’s like being in love with a loaded weapon and you’re the safety.”

This book hooked me in, had me completely enthralled and I adored every second of it. Better When He’s Bold is in a shadowy underground world that is raw, gritty and riveting and I’m addicted to this series.

This is the second book series and I can tell you the books in this series just get better! Better When He’s Bold is about Race and Brysen. If you haven’t read Better When He’s Bad then you would not have known that Race was not born in the Point. He use to be a rich guy but got disowned by his farther. Now that the last “king” in The Point is dead, Race decided he should take over the kingdom. Race is now known as a loan shark, a bookie or an enforcer. He is very bold and everyone knows not to screw with him but because he is new some take a lot of chances! Brysen acted like she hated Race in the first book but actually she was like that just to hide her feelings from him.

Race liked her the moment he met Brysen and her cold shoulder she gave him every time they were around each other did not scare him away. He likes a challenge and she would be the ultimate prize. Race works with Nassir, a guy you should not cross but they need to work together on things. Brysen knows that Race does illegal things. He may be pretty to look at but he could be very dangerouse and Brysen has enough problems to worry about without adding in this gorgeous King of a tainted and violent kingdom.

Brysen’s family life is breaking apart. She has moved back to her family home hoping she can keep the family from falling apart. After all someone must look after her younger sister when her parents is to selfish to care. With everything going on in her life she is barely staying afloat. Getting involved with someone like Race might not be good idea but then she started to get threatening text and some other incidents happen to her; Race seems to be the only one who would do everything possible to keep her safe. Brysen finds it real hard to resist his allure but she can’t help but want more of Race. Race can’t help but admire her strength and resilience when it comes to taking care of her sister! Race is determined to keep her safe and to worm his way into her heart. After all his kingdom needs a queen.

“Seems to me that when you add a pretty girl into the mix, that’s when you give a dangerous man something to really be dangerous for.”

I loved Brysen. She was so strong and even though she had so many problems in her life she still made sure her sister was safe and goes to school everyday. When she found out what her farther did she started to make plans to get it all sorted. Her strength was admire able because she did not turn to Race every time she had a problem. He wanted to help her in all the ways he could but she needed to do some things for herself. Jay Crownover knows how to write real characters where you you get pulled into the books.

This book was never predictable, it get me guessing every step of the way! I was on the edge of my seat the entire time. My favorite part of this book was here at the end when they figured out that they are meant to be together. I also loved the steamy parts in this book! The best scene was there first kiss because it was so totally unexpected after something so suspenseful, their relashionship was burning hot! There is abosolutly nothing that I hated, I loved every second of this book.

“Race will tear apart anything and anyone he thinks is a threat to you, so you need to handle him carefully. Being with guys like us . . .” He shrugged and put the end of his cigarette in his mouth. “It’s like being in love with a loaded weapon and you’re the safety.”

Jay Crownover writes captivating stories, brings her imperfect characters alive for us, making you care for them and their problems.  I still love Dovie and Bax more but Race and Brysen’s story was compelling and smoking hot. I’m addicted to Jay Crownover’s books and I’m counting down the minutes for Titus’ story! If you haven’t figured out who Titus is yet then let me tell you that you’ve been living under a rock! Titus is Bax’s sexy hot cop older brother. I also need a story with Karsen and Booker, you can see there is chemistry brewing between the two! This book is intented for all those who love New Adult book because Jay is becoming the queen of New Adult genres!!!

“Are we falling in love, Bry?”

She laughed and again pulled away from me. “Probably. Why wouldn’t we? Life is a mess, I have someone trying to kill me, and you’re right in the thick of a war on the city. What better conditions could you think of to fall in love?”

ryna_logo_by_titchard

See my review of Better When He’s Bad

20685718

About the author

Jay Crownover I’m supposed to share interesting details about myself so that my readers get to know me so here we go in no particular order: I’m an natural redhead even though I haven’t seen my real hair color in years, I’m a big fan of tattoos and have a half sleeve on either arm and various other pieces all over the place, I’ve been in the bar industry since I was in college and it has always offered interesting insight into how men and women interact with each other, I have 3 dogs that are all crazy, I live in Colorado and love the snow, I love music and in all reality wish I could be a rock star not a writer or a bartender but I have zero talent so there is that.I love to write, love to read and all I’m interested in is a good story with interesting characters that make the reader feel something.
Thanks for taking the time to check my stuff out….
Jay Crownover
Website • Twitter • FacebookGoodreads
7 thoughts on “Review: Better When He’s Bold by Jay Crownover

  1. Pingback: Review: Nash by Jay Crownover | Echoing Books

  2. Pingback: Review: Better When He’s Brave by Jay Crownover | Echoing Books

  3. Pingback: Review: Asa (Marked Men #6) by Jay Crownover | Echoing Books

  4. Pingback: Reviews by Rating | Echoing Books

  5. Pingback: Review for Leveled by Jay Crownover | Echoing Books

Leave a Reply

