ARC Review: Last To Know by Micalea Smeltzer

IMG_0617-0Last To Know by Micalea Smeltzer
Willow Creek #1
Publication:9 February 2015
Genre:Young Adult, Music,Contemporary Romance
Purchase:Amazon
Source: ARC e-book given by Give Me Books Blog

He was just a boy.
And I was just a girl.
But if that’s all there was to the story it wouldn’t be very interesting, would it?

Up and coming band Willow Creek is back in their hometown for the summer. For the drummer, Maddox Wade, this summer was meant for writing music and playing gigs.

Falling in love was not part of the plan.

One look at Emma Burke and those plans cease to matter.

Emma is quiet and guarded. She’s still hurt from her father walking out two years ago. She doesn’t want to trust Maddox, but with his dark hair, smoldering good looks, and infectious smile he’s impossible to resist.

Together Maddox and Emma embark on an unforgettable summer of adventures and first love.
Everything is perfect…or so Emma thinks.

There are things she doesn’t know, and when she finds out the truth it might shatter everything she’s built with Maddox.

No one said love was easy, and for Maddox and Emma it just might be impossible.

This is a Young Adult book. The following books in the series will be New Adult.

*This book is a standalone within a series


Advanced readers copy received for an honest review.

“I was too quiet and different. I didn’t go out and party, I stayed home and read a book.” 

Okay first off all I absolutely loved this book! It was sweet and adorable and I could not stop laughing the entire time I read this book! I started reading this book at midnight on Friday and when I started reading it I did not want to stop. I wanted to read further bug I forced myself to stop so I could go to bed. The first thing I did the next morning was to start reading this book and I did not stop until I finished it!

I sat with a grin on my face through the entire book…. Well up until the end! First of all you will know who Maddox is the moment you start! I mean you will guess what he does for a living and you would think oh wow another one of those cliche books with bands in but I can tell you that this book is beautifully written and it is a very light read!

“How have we lived in the same place for all these years and only just met?

Because we weren’t meant to meet then. This is our now.” 

Okay so this book is about a seventeen year old girl named Emma. She went with her best friend to a summer fair but Sadie wanted to go listen to the music and Emma didn’t. They split up so they can have fun but in the end she could not find Sadie. Maddox saw her and decided to go talk to Emma. He was different and so dramatic! Maddox is the only guy that could make her laugh and he persuaded her to say yes for a date.

Their first date did not go as planned but he somehow got her to say yes for more dates. Together they decided to do thing the summer that they never would have done in the vacation. Maddox made her feel alive and slowly she started to have feelings for him but one day she found out that he lied to her. That lie nearly forced them apart but thankfully they ended up with a HEA after Emma got past all that hurt.

“The way I see it, there are always going to be the ones that love you and the ones that hate you—let’s face it, people love to tear others down, but as long as you’re confident within yourself then nothing else matters.” 

This storyline might have been written a few times over but trust me you would not predict everything in this story! I can tell you this was a very refreshing book and can’t wait to read the rest of the books in this series!

What I loved the most about this book was Maddox! He was so hilarious and sweet and caring and so dramatic! Just the right kind of guy for a girl like Emma!

“Music gives a soul to the universe, Wings to the mind, Flight to the imagination, And Life to everything. —Plato” 

ryna_logo_by_titchardAbout the author

c0588141-6d6e-481a-a007-a5b95c6d122cMicalea Smeltzer is a bestselling Young and New Adult author from Winchester, Virginia. She’s always working on her next book, and when she has spare time she loves to read and spend time with her family.

2 thoughts on “ARC Review: Last To Know by Micalea Smeltzer

  1. Pingback: WWW Wednesday #4: 19 August 2015 | Echoing Books

  2. Pingback: Reviews by Rating | Echoing Books

Leave a Reply

