Blog Tour with Review, Excerpt & Giveaway: Hendrix by MJ Fields and Chelsea Camaron

I’m so excited to be able to bring you the Blog Tour for MJ Fields & Chelsea Camaron’s Hendrix the first book of the Caldwell Brothers!! Here you will see my review to this book with an nice excerpt!



HENDRIX
Caldwell Brothers #1
MJ Fields and Chelsea Camaron
Publisher: Loveswept
Format: eARC
Source: Tasty Book Tours

goodreads

Perfect
for fans of J. S. Scott and Emma Chase, Hendrix introduces the wild and sexy
Caldwell boys—three brothers who are living up to their legendary names in
Detroit Rock City.

Hendrix
Caldwell wants nothing more than to revitalize the family bar—and tear down
every last reminder of his no-good father. But business isn’t the only thing on
his mind. An explosive encounter with a stranger at a charity masquerade is
just the distraction he craves, with no names and no strings attached. For
Hendrix, sex is casual, and love is a four-letter word. His commitment is to
his brothers, his bar, and his bike. So why can’t he stop thinking about the naughty
Cinderella who rocked his world, then left him—and her panties—behind?

Olivia Hemmingway knows fairytales are for little girls. Drowning in debt and
hiding a shameful secret, she won’t be saved by a knight in tattooed armor, no
matter how mind-blowing their one-night stand may have been. Olivia never
expects to meet her masked lover again. But when she takes a job at Hendrix
Caldwell’s bar, her sexy new boss seems all too familiar. And once the lights
go out and the music is turned up, the sparks between them burn hotter than
ever.

Buy Links:

Amazon | B & N | iTunes | Kobo

review5 Rating

*Advanced Readers Copy received in exchange for an honest review*

Okay so I’ve read a few books by Chelsea so I know she can write amazing books but I haven’t had the chance to read anything by MJ Fields yet but trust me when I tell you I will be changing that ASAP! NOW TRUST ME WHEN I TELL YOU THIS…..  These two authors knew how to turn a troubled man into an alpha, possessive, and downright dirty mouth also a very lovable character. This is the first book of this series and this story is one that will break your heart. This story is told in a dual POV’S which I loved because I usually love getting both sides of a story and I was glad to get to know Hendrix better. Don’t you get me wrong I loved Olivia but Hendrix drew me in a little more. You can’t help but fall in love with the Caldwell brothers.

Hendrix is the oldest brother in this book and he owns a bar that Olivia goes to work at but that I not the first time that Livi and Hendrix met. No they met at a charity event except they were both masked so basically they did not know each other when they met at the bar. Now let me tell you Livi’s personality is a little cooky and has some strange and unconventional ways of comforting and controlling emotions.  This book showed us what she tried to overcome in her years.

She finds herself in trouble after a while so that is why she went to go work at the bar but she wasn’t very good at it in the beginning. Strangely enough Hendrix did not fire her maybe that was because of her crazy personality especially when she touched her ass every once in a while…. You need to read the book to understand.  I adored that sexual tension and banter between the two. The relationship and acceptance the Caldwell brother had with Olivia, it was very moving. Without either knowing who the other person really is, they still had an intense connection, and were drawn to each other. I loved the dynamics of all these characters. The brothers losing their mother left an emptiness deep within but with Livi that void was filled. Livi found a loving family with the Caldwell brothers. Now since the one night stand and now with Livi working for Hendrix, he starts feeling things that he never felt before for a women. At first I was worried when I started to read this book but I was very much mistaken. I loved this book and the chemistry between Hendrix and Livi was scorching.

I loved how both overcome their pasts especially Livi thankfully she had the help of Hendrix to support her. Together they healed. I ABSOLUTLY cannot wait to read more of the Caldwell Brothers especially Jaggar. This book was fantastic and I really loved the panty thing 😛 It was just so unique!

ryna_logo_by_titchard

Media_Militia_Decorative-029
EXCERPT

When you think of Motor City, you think of poverty, but what Detroit lacks in class and elegance, we make up for in dive bars. You got the 2-Way Inn on Mt. Elliott, Nancy Whiskey on Harrison, Old Miami on Cass, Greenwich Time in Cadillac Square, Kwicky on 8 Mile, Marshall’s on Jefferson, Jumbo’s on 3rd, the Painted Lady up in Hamtramck, My Dad’s Place on Kercheval, and Caldwell’s on Atwater.
You know the kind of places I’m talking about—windowless joints on the corner with the High Life sign blinking because you know the sign is as old as the paint-chipped building it hangs off. The blinking sign beckons you. You have to go inside to see what the hell is going on ’cause you can’t see in the windows, and it sounds like you may be missing something if you don’t.
They are boarded up tight, because they got busted out two nights ago when the place got robbed by the fucking thugs who walk up and down the streets, selling candy one minute and panhandling two hours later. The pieces of shit are inventive—I’ll give them that—but my suggestion is get a fucking job, slob.
Back in the day, when the auto factories dominated the area, things didn’t look so broken down. It was alive and kicking. The area was still peppered with bars. Bar owners were making mad cash, too.
At the end of every street, there was a joint that served ice-cold High Life on tap and two-dollar shots. There was entertainment and fun to be had everywhere. You could always get a decent, quick meal on your lunch break, a live show at night; and the bartenders made you feel like you belonged, like you were family.
My pops won the title to Hooligans at a dogfight. With it being a great location in the Rivertown district near Chene Park, he truly got a prize that time. He was instantly banking money and banging women. That’s when he met Mom.
She sang, played guitar, and had a decent following as a one-woman show. He was thirty, and she was twenty-two. She sang at his bar every Wednesday night and eventually tended bar three nights a week. Like many of his barmaids, she fell for his bullshit, and that ended up with her pregnant with me in less than two months from the time they met.
He moved her into his apartment above the bar and embraced becoming a father. He wanted to do it better than his old man had. Isn’t that the truth in life, just do it better? Don’t we all strive for that?
Eventually, the novelty wore off. He started fucking around on her. When she confronted him, he beat her down emotionally. She busted her ass keeping the bar clean, and he busted his ass drinking the profit. Two more boys later, and she was busting her ass to raise their three kids on top of keeping his business afloat.
When the economy in Detroit deteriorated, he lost what was left of his mind. He started coming after us for stupid shit like spilled milk, a LEGO on the floor, you name it. Hell, the wind blowing in the wrong direction had him on us.
Mom started stepping in with, “Boys, go to your room.”
Sure, we did as we were told, but we heard the shit. We heard him hitting her. It was no better than seeing it, either. We were helpless as the sounds of each blow became increasingly deafening to our tiny ears. Funny how, in the moment, adrenaline kicks in and instincts go into overdrive. Every noise becomes louder, clearer, and sticks with you longer. I can still hear that shit in my sleep.
As I grew older and stood taller than him, I began to step in. He and I would go at it, fist to fist, until one of us wasn’t moving. At first, it was me. Then, when I was seventeen, it was finally him. Fucker knew it, too.
I begged Mom to move out, but she refused to leave her home and family. She made excuses for him, said that was how he was raised.
He stopped coming at us when I busted his nose. I hated the bastard, and when Morrison was big enough, I moved the fuck out. Still saw Mom every day, though. I couldn’t go a day without seeing her or my brothers. I needed to make sure they were okay, but I also knew, if I stayed, I would kill him and be in the state pen within a year.
He lost Hooligans because the fucking asshole bet against the wrong underground fighter. Who was the fighter he bet against? My brother, his own son. Who did he lose it to? Me. Fucker didn’t even know it was me until a week later, either.
I let him stay in the apartment above the bar, not for him, but for Mom.
I had been working for a contractor, fixing up old warehouses and making them into apartments for years. Even made enough to buy my own place.
I fixed up the second and third floors, making them livable. Wide-open space, two bedrooms, two baths on the second floor, the third is my loft. The first floor is a badass garage. It is where I spend the rest of my money—on my tools, my toys, and my rides.
I roll over to find my pit bull, Floyd, is hogging the bed as usual. She—yes, Floyd is a she—is an obvious bed hog.
When I found her, she had on a pink, spiked collar that was digging into her neck. I squatted down and peeled it off the poor girl, and she let me. Then, she took off, and I followed her to an abandoned warehouse, walking into a fucking scene that makes my stomach churn to this day. Fucking dogfights.
My dad loves those godforsaken fights, while I despise them.
I called a cop friend I knew from high school while in an outside alley and then waited. When the fuckers running the circuit were taken in, along with the spectators, I watched the SPCA take the dogs. Floyd looked at me, I looked at her, and I knew she was mine.
“Floyd, seriously, bitch”—I laugh as she licks my face—“get down.”

Media_Militia_Decorative-029

Want more Caldwell Brothers?

Pre-Order Book Two

MORRISON

Releasing Dec 1st, 2015

Amazon | B&N

About the author

USA Today bestselling
author Chelsea Camaron grew up turning wrenches alongside her
father, which just so happened to inspire her Love and Repair and The Hellions
Ride series. When she’s not writing, you can find her playing with her kids,
attending car shows, going on motorcycle rides on the back of her husband’s
Harley, snuggling down with her new favorite book, or watching any movie that
Vin Diesel might happen to be in. She lives in Louisiana with her husband and
two children.

Website | Facebook | Twitter | GoodReads

MJ Fields is the USA Today
bestselling author of the Love series, the Wrapped series, the Burning Souls
series, the Men of Steel series, and the Norfolk series. A former
small-business owner who recently became a full-time writer, Fields lives in
central New York, surrounded by family and friends. Her house is full of pets,
friends, and noise ninety percent of the time, and she wouldn’t have it any
other way.

Website | Facebook | Twitter | GoodReads

giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Advertisements

One thought on “Blog Tour with Review, Excerpt & Giveaway: Hendrix by MJ Fields and Chelsea Camaron

  1. Pingback: WWW Wednesday #9: October 28th, 2015 | Echoing Books

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s