Review for Tempting Rowan by Micalea Smeltzer

tempting-rowan_highTempting Rowan (Trace + Olivia Book 3) by Micalea Smeltzer
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Publication Date: May 2, 2014
Genres:  New Adult, Contemporary Romance
Format: eBook
Source: N/A

goodreads

I’m drowning in the numbness. It’s pulling me under and I can’t see the surface. It’s easier to pretend I can’t feel. And the longer you pretend, the easier it is to believe. But he wants to save me. Only he can’t. I have to save myself…and I don’t know if I want to.Rowan Sinclair’s life has been anything but easy. With an alcoholic mother and a sleazy stepfather, it’s been her responsibility to raise her younger siblings. At twenty-one she’s chained to a life she doesn’t want, but sees no other alternative. After all, what would happen to her brother and sister if she were to leave?

Trenton Wentworth sees the pain behind Rowan’s eyes. He wants nothing more than to make it disappear. To hold her. To love her. Except Rowan keeps everyone at a safe distance. But if there’s anyone that can break down the walls she’s built around herself, it’s Trent. So she avoids him at all costs. But Trent isn’t one to be easily evaded. He’s stubborn and determined. He’ll save this girl even if it costs him everything.

Love, lies, and deception.

That’s the name of the game when you’re Tempting Rowan.

Note: This is book three in the Trace + Olivia series but follows new characters. You do not need to read the first two books in the series to read this one.

Finding Olivia (Book One)

Chasing Olivia (Book Two)

Saving Tatum (Book Four)

This is a standalone.

Buy Links:

Black Divider

review

5+ Rating

Let me tell you once I started this book, I had a very hard time putting it down. There was so many things I love about this book, and trust me I loved Trent and Rowan. Trent is just a perfect book boyfriend, he stole my heart and effortlessly wiggled his way into my heart.  Rowan is one of my favorite kind of heroine and trust me she is a force to be reckoned with. She is smart, hardworking and completely committed to building a better life for herself and her family. She takes so much care of everyone else and she never stops to worry about herself. Rowan is one quick witted, sensitive and strong but sure she is a little broken, imperfect, and reeling from a lifetime of emotional injury, but as you notice she is strong and fierce and obviously refuses to be defeated.

I connected instantly with these two characters and I loved it just so much. The relationship between these two has been perfectly and carefully crafted to make this novel important and the storyline unique to the characters. I loved to read the sibling bonds between Trace (+ Olivia) and Trent also the bonds between Rowan and her siblings. Trent’s relationship with his family is just a polar opposite to that of Rowan’s and the juxtaposition of these two realities really built the emotion of the story. I loved… loved the relationship between Rowan and Jude. It was sweet and adorable and also hysterical and had me laughing out loud a couple of times. She was herself around Jude, snarky; unapologetic and comfortable in her own skin. Now Jude and Tatum’s relationship was a whole different story and let’s just say, I’m counting down the days until I get my hands on their story!

Rowan and Trent had such an amazing chemistry, love and passion that it seeps through the pages, with all the raw emotions. I absolutely loved the narrative, it’s a second chance for both of them and boy let me tell you it was amazing. I think, like I said before I fell head over heels for Trent, giving Trace some stiff competition. Micalea deserves so much praise for writing such an amazing book.

I love reading a book that has moments of connection with a character and stories. If I can feel the emotions of a book and made me invest in their happiness; then the author has done a great job. Micalea flat out blew me away with the emotional storm that raged through this book. I grinned, laughed, shook my head in exasperation, got mad, clenched my fists and yes trust me I cried. Micalea made me feel like I’m a part of this story. Trent and Rowan felt like old friends and their story took my heart and I just know that they will never let it go. I recommend this book to everyone because this is one amazing book that will stay with a person forever and I’ll easily reread this book. I highly recommend that when you reading this book, you need to keep a box of tissues nearby because this book just pulls on a person heartstrings.

ryna_logo_by_titchard

Black Divider

About the author

c0588141-6d6e-481a-a007-a5b95c6d122cMicalea Smeltzer is a bestselling Young and New Adult author from Winchester, Virginia. She’s always working on her next book, and when she has spare time she loves to read and spend time with her family.

One thought on “Review for Tempting Rowan by Micalea Smeltzer

  1. Pingback: WWW Wednesday #10: November 18th, 2015 | Echoing Books

Leave a Reply

