Review for Leveled by Jay Crownover


LeveledLeveled (Saints of Denver #0.5) by Jay Crownover

Publisher: William Morrow Impulse
Publication Date: December 8, 2015
Genres: New Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Format: eBOOK
Source: N/A

goodreads

We all need a hero…let the Saints of Denver begin

Orlando Frederick knows what it is to be leveled by pain. Instead of focusing on his own, he’s made it his mission to help others: sports stars, wounded war vets, survivors of all kinds. But when Dom, a rugged, damaged, sinfully attractive cop, makes his way into Lando’s physical therapy practice, he might be the biggest challenge yet. Lando loved one stubborn man before and barely survived the fallout. He’s not sure he can do it again.

Dominic Voss is a protector. The police badge he wears is not only his job, it’s his identity, so when he’s sidelined because of an injury, the only thing he cares about is getting back on the force. He expects Lando to mend his body, he just doesn’t realize the trainer will also have him working toward a hell of a lot more. As attraction simmers and flares, Dom sees that Lando needs repair of his own…if only the man will let him close enough to mend what’s broken.

Buy Links:

Amazon ** B&N ** iBOOKS ** KOBO

Black Divider

review

5+ Rating

“I can’t live my life waiting for it not to hurt before I start existing again.”

This novella was a perfect bridge to the new series. I mean I always wondered if Orlando found happiness after Remy’s death and now we finally know. 😀 I feel like all these characters from the Marked Men, the place, this family has been a part of me for so long that I fall more and more in love with them. Orlando “Lando” Frederick is one of the characters that deserved more than what he ended up with; at the time; with losing his first love the way he did. That has scarred him and there has not been anyone else who has challenged him to really heal from Remy’s death, until one particular wounded cop walks into his practice in need for physical therapy.

Dominic Voss just wants to finish his therapy so he can get his badge back. He never expected to feel all those sparks flying when he meets Lando for the first time, recommended by a mutual friend.  Sparks flew between them and that surprised both with their intensity and their persistence. There was healing but also pain. Both of these characters faced their fears and experience things that make them realize just how lucky they are. Overall this theme is forgiveness, life and a love overcoming fear.

Leveled-Quote

Leveled exceeded my expectations. It made me fall for the two broken men who found their way to each other. These two men was on the verge of losing it, both for different reasons. If you notice when you read this novella you will notice that Dom is in his own personal hell trying to heal so he can go back to work. He always dreamt of being a cop and his terrified he will never go back to it. Orlando on the other hand spent years after losing the love of his life utterly lost before being in a good place again. While this was a novella, it still felt like a full-length novel. It never felt rushed and the reluctant relationship was given a chance to develop. What I also loved about this book was the cameos of the characters from the Marked Men series.

“Bad stuff happens sometimes and it happens to people we care about. You can’t live insulated because you are scared of getting too close.”

This novella was truly a perfect bridge to the end of The Marked Men series and the beginning of the Saints of Denver series. I also did not know what to expect from this book as it was the first ever M/M novel from Jay and so closely tied to all those we loved. I love the little conversation in the gym with Sayer, and Dom’s keen observation between Sayer and Zeb. Those little glimpses just made me even more antsy to dive into Built and see what’s going on between the pretty lawyer and the gruff contractor. As always Jay brought the angst, the troubled leading men, the romance, the hot sex and a fantastic story to back all of that up. I suggest you get off your ass and get your hands on this novella so you can get ready for Built!!!

“I’d kissed plenty of boys in my time but never one that made my head spin to the point that it made me forget where I was.”

ryna_logo_by_titchard

Black DividerSee more of my reviews by Jay Crownover:

21079580 21052021 20494592 23018949 Rowdy 19516814 20685718 22088832 24358772
About the author

Jay Crownover I’m supposed to share interesting details about myself so that my readers get to know me so here we go in no particular order: I’m an natural redhead even though I haven’t seen my real hair color in years, I’m a big fan of tattoos and have a half sleeve on either arm and various other pieces all over the place, I’ve been in the bar industry since I was in college and it has always offered interesting insight into how men and women interact with each other, I have 3 dogs that are all crazy, I live in Colorado and love the snow, I love music and in all reality wish I could be a rock star not a writer or a bartender but I have zero talent so there is that.I love to write, love to read and all I’m interested in is a good story with interesting characters that make the reader feel something.
Thanks for taking the time to check my stuff out….
Jay Crownover
Website • Twitter • FacebookGoodreads
Leave a Reply

