Review for Oblivion by Jennifer L. Armentrout


Oblivion-mockup-300x450Oblivion by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Publication Date: December 1, 2015
Genres: Young Adult, Paranormal,Romance, Fantasy
Format: E-book
Source: N/A

goodreads

CONTAINS EXCLUSIVE, NEVER-BEFORE-SEEN MATERIAL! AVAILABLE ONLY IN THE EBOOK EDITION.

Oblivion is the hotly-anticipated follow-up to New York Timesbestselling author Jennifer L. Armentrout’s megaselling Lux series, written from the point of view of Daemon Black.

I knew the moment Katy Swartz moved in next door, there was going to be trouble. Lots of it.
And trouble’s the last thing I need, since I’m not exactly from around here. My people arrived on Earth from Lux, a planet thirteen billion light years away. Plus, if there’s one thing I know, it’s that humans can’t be trusted. We scare them. We can do things they only dream about, and honestly, we make them look weak as hell. ‘Cuz they are.

But Kat is getting to me in ways no one else has, and I can’t stop myself from wanting her – or wanting to use my powers to protect her. She makes me weak, and I’m the strongest of our kind, tasked with protecting us all. So this one simple girl…she can mean the end for us. Because the Luxen have an even bigger enemy – the Arum, and I need to stay on my game.

Falling for Katy – a human – won’t just place her in danger. It could get us all killed, and that’s one thing I’ll never let happen…

Re-live the thrilling, pulse-pounding action and epic romance of Daemon and Katy’s story all over again.

Buy Links:

Amazon ** Kobo ** BAM ** Barnes and Noble ** iBooks

Black Divider

review

5+ Rating

“I’ve always found that the most beautiful people, truly beautiful inside and out, are the ones who are quietly unaware of their effect. The ones who throw their beauty around, waste what they have? Their beauty is only passing. It’s just a shell hiding nothing but shadows and emptiness.” 

Let me tell you one thing. This novel was a gift to all Daemon Black fans! I absolutely adore the Lux Series and Daemon is just my top favourite book boyfriend! Now if you don’t know by now Jennifer is one of my absolute favorite authors so when I heard about Oblivion… I sort of freaked and I wanted the book the moment I heard about it which meant the wait was torture! Now Oblivion was written in Daemon’s POV and let me just say WOW! I FELL DEEPER IN LOVE WITH DAEMON! ❤  I was in heaven the moment I started this novel! This novel is such a treasure and I still wish for my own Daemon Black! Here we not only got Daemon’s POV from Obsidian but we also got Onyx and Opal! WOW. Just wow…. I’m struggling to put my feelings into words right now! I thought waiting awhile before I review should make it easier for me but no I was hugely mistaken!

“Huh. Perhaps I was a bit too much of a dick the first two times I talked to her. Good thing she didn’t know I briefly considered burning her house down.” 

I never thought I would like the Daemon’s POV of Obsidian, Onyx and Opal more than Katy’s but I did. Maybe that was because Blake was more in Katy’s book than Daemon’s and I did loathe Blake! I still do and Kat was a total idiot when it came to trusting Blake!!!!!! Anyway as you remember in the beginning of Obsidian Daemon was one of the biggest douche’s I have ever heard of but that was obviously a reason to it. He was unapologetic about being a jerk because he was doing it for everyone’s best interest. Daemon is cocky, powerful, intelligent and downright sexy. He is fearless and sarcastic and his been given a horrible hand when it comes to his loss and family is the most important thing to him. I mean nothing else matters more than his family. He would do absolutely everything for his sister Dee even be extremely mean to his new neighbour Katy, telling her to stay away from Dee. What made him this great guy in my eyes? Well that is his protectiveness and his sense of responsibility. We all know now that Dee hiding his car keys to talk to Katy was a total lie and only an excuse to talk and be with her.

Daemon’s POV gives us the insight at how hard he fought against getting to know Katy and despite his resistance, he was the one who made mistakes and put Katy in danger, not Dee like worried about. I loved seeing the interaction he had with Dee and Adam and how much he missed Dawson. I also found out that Dee told Adam before all the others knew about Katy.  While Daemon isn’t one of those guys who would talk about his feelings, he is most definitely the guy you want on your side when it comes to defending and protecting. You figure out soon enough that Daemon has no patience what so ever and if he does not tolerate anyone’s crap. Trust me a mad Daemon is on scary Daemon- which means his enemies should run the other way the moment they see an angry Daemon!!!

“And because I was competing for world’s biggest dumbass, I stayed out there, in the trees, stomach grumbling like a damn engine, and helped her carry in box after box without her even knowing.” 

The moment I started with this novel… my love for Daemon Black was rekindled tenfold. Like I said before he is cocky, powerful, intelligent and downright sexy but he is also arrogant, lovable, loyal, courageous, snarky and I felt a part of this story! I loved that inner dialogue he had with himself. I loved readings about the scenes that Katy was not involved in from Obsidian and I enjoyed getting to know more about the Thompsons. I especially loved the beginning when Daemon first saw Katy and what he first thought and did about her. He became like a total stalker in the beginning. I’m glad that JLA touched all of the most important scenes from the Lux series but I loved all the extra scenes so much more!!! This novel was all Daemon! We got to see him on a deeper lever and learn so much more about his motivations, fears, and desires. I loved seeing how he thrive on getting Katy all riled up and bringing out her claws. 😛 It was one turn on for him and he became a master at pushing her buttons. I loved seeing how hard he fought to stay away from her yet all that fighting was useless she had a strong pull on him. Katy just crept under that enclosed bubble he had around him. We saw how much he regretted hurting Katy in the beginning and he felt the pain of it too. Now trust me as a reader it was such a privilege seeing Daemon fall in love with Katy before he even realized it. Matthew is the one who saw it first. They are the ultimate perfect couple.

“Katy. Her name was Katy. Reminded me of Kitty. Kitty cat. Kitten. Look at me, putting all these words together.” 

What can I say a guy like Daemon thrives on a challenges and he has met his match when it came to Katy because she would not back down. Also seeing Daemon transform into the guy that loves Katy more than anything and there isn’t anything he would not do for her! What else can I say? I loved being in Daemon’s head! I loved all his attitude moments, sweeter moments and even the moments when he berated himself for his attitude and sweet moments! Still one of my favorites scenes is the spaghetti scene! I mean how did I forget about that scene?!

Everything about Oblivion was truly perfect and amazing! All I need now is to find myself a Daemon Black! Oblivion was romantic, swoon-worthy, addictive and so exhilarating! This was the perfect novel for Lux Fans and you don’t want to miss out on this novel! Trust me you will fall harder and deeper for Daemon, as he shows us all those sides of himself! This novel  deserves me than a 5 rating!

“I knew right then I would burn down the whole universe for her if I had to. I would do anything to keep her safe. Kill. Heal. Die. Anything. Because she was my everything.” 

ryna_logo_by_titchard

Black Divider

And don’t miss the first books in the LUX Series!

LUX Series Collage

LUX: Beginnings ~ Amazon ** Barnes and Noble

LUX: Consequences ~ Amazon ** Barnes and Noble

OPPOSITION ~ Amazon ** Barnes and Noble

About the author

IMG_0860# 1 New York Times and # 1 International Bestselling author Jennifer lives in Martinsburg, West Virginia. All the rumors you’ve heard about her state aren’t true. When she’s not hard at work writing, she spends her time reading, watching really bad zombie movies, pretending to write, and hanging out with her husband and her Jack Russell Loki.

Her dreams of becoming an author started in algebra class, where she spent most of her time writing short stories….which explains her dismal grades in math. Jennifer writes young adult paranormal, science fiction, fantasy, and contemporary romance. She is published with Spencer Hill Press, Entangled Teen and Brazen, Disney/Hyperion and Harlequin Teen. Her book Obsidian has been optioned for a major motion picture and her Covenant Series has been optioned for TV. Her young adult romantic suspense novel DON’T LOOK BACK was a 2014 nominated Best in Young Adult Fiction by YALSA.

She also writes Adult and New Adult contemporary and paranormal romance under the name J. Lynn. She is published by Entangled Brazen and HarperCollins.

Website ** Facebook ** Twitter ** Novel Goodreads ** Author Goodreads

Leave a Reply

